Canva Design

Family Reunion

Oluwafisayo

--

The family reunion party was in full swing, and everyone was having a great time catching up. Children were running around while Tade’s mother stood still, cautioning them. I was sitting with Tade’s sister, chatting and laughing, when Tade sent me another message.

“Iyawo, get ready to be spoiled on this journey with all you could even imagine in the world. I told you I have the best family in the world. You thought it was just hype? Daddy is talking about the journal pad you bought for them. He has started already.” My daughter-in-law was at our reunion party. I chuckled and replied, “You guys are spoiling me already.”

I couldn’t help but chuckle, and Tade’s sisters noticed my laughter and asked if they could share in the joke. I shook my head. “Sorry, ladies, it’s just a private joke between me and..."

But before I could finish, Tayo interjected, “You guys were still asking? She’s talking to her husband now. It’s that obvious.” She flashed a smile, and we all laughed.

Sister Tolu asked, “How did you guys used to do it? Chat with your spouse when you guys are together."

Sister Lola chimed in, “My husband and I used to do it. He would be in the sitting room, and I would be chatting with him.”

Sister Tolu was dumbfounded. “That’s spontaneous. I would love to try it.”

But Tayo lifted her nose and reminded her to concentrate on her job as a neurosurgeon. “Your husband is a pediatrician, and the two of you fit each other.” Sister Tolu threw the napkin she was holding to her.

I heard Sister Tolu always had to clear her schedule to make it to the reunion, but two years ago, when she had patience at hand, she couldn’t make it but lamented for a whole year how she missed the party. The doctors are doing a great job. Kudos to them.

We all laughed and continued our conversation, reminiscing about their old times and sharing updates on their lives. It’s always wonderful to catch up with loved ones and create new memories.

“I can’t believe how busy this house has become,” I said to Tade’s Daddy as we watched the family members coming in one after the other.

“Tade’s cousins are coming, and you can spend time with them,” Tade’s daddy replied with a smile. “It’s always like this when we have this family reunion. But don’t worry, you’ll have fun.”

As the night went on, the caterers fed us with meat, and the aroma was so strong it almost knocked me off. At one point, I had my fill and went to bed. As I was about to close my eyes, I heard a bell ring. “What’s that?” I asked Tayo.

“It’s time for night prayers,” she replied. “We do it every night. You’re welcome to join us.” I struggled to stand up, but I knew I didn’t have a choice. I was surprised to see the sitting room transformed with lighting. The lighting and decorations gave it a beautiful lift. But to my surprise, it was just a 15-minute prayer, and everyone except the caterer's said goodnight.

As I was about to turn in, Tade texted me a good night, and I felt relaxed at the end. I thought I was dreaming when I heard soft songs, but suddenly they became loud. The whole house was filled with the song ‘ELEMURE’ in our local dialect. I chuckled. “A typical Ekiti family. “ The speaker was blasting. I peered through the window and saw a small tent and a man standing with a box, which I was supposed to be the DJ.

Just then, Tade’s mother came in and gave me a warm hug. “I told the whole house to allow you to sleep. You looked tired last night.” I flashed a smile. Then she dragged me to greet her best friend, “Mrs Williams.” As I stood to greet her, she said, “King Daughters doesn’t need to do that. You know the Yoruba interpretation,” and extended her hand around me.

As the night went on, almost everyone had a best friend, and some of their childhood friends were present with their children. Tade’s Mummy was dragging me to greet everyone, and I could say it was the introduction we had never had. My purse was full of legal tender.

Suddenly, Tade’s dad interrupted our conversation and said, “Remi, come meet some of my friends.” I followed him to a raised click of his friends, and the palm wine on their table was oozing around.

“Hey, Remi! Nice to meet you,” said one of his friends, extending his hand for a handshake. “Nice to meet you too, sir,” I replied, shaking his hand.

One of his friends looked at me and said, “Is this the bride-to-be?” I blushed and replied, “Yes, sir.” They all cheered and raised their glasses to me.

The reunion was beautiful. It killed all my imagination about my in-laws. I was treated like a baby. Just as I was trying to check my mother’s WhatsApp message, Tade’s daddy announced, “Everyone, please gather around for a special announcement.”

Everyone hushed and gathered around, and the music paused. “As you all know, my son and Remi are getting married in ten days,” he said, smiling. “I would like everyone present to grace the wedding.” Everyone clapped and cheered. Hearing the announcement brought more consciousness, and I realized that the fun was not over yet. I looked at my fiancé, and he gave me a warm smile. I felt so lucky to be a part of this family.

Overwhelmed with emotion, I turned to Tade’s mummy and whispered, “I can’t believe it’s just ten days away. Do you think we have enough time to plan everything?” She put her hand on my shoulder and smiled. “Of course we do. We have everything under control. You just enjoy the moment.”

I embraced my mother-in-law tightly, feeling grateful to have her. Tade raised her eyebrows with a smile, pleased to see us bonding. I had an amazing time.

Thanks for Reading!

--

--

Oluwafisayo

Join me on a journey of adventure through my captivating fiction stories and journals. Creating environmental stories for kids that weave in valuable morals.